Hip vs knee exoskeleton: Hypershell X and Dnsys X1 against Dnsys Z1

Hip exoskeletons such as the Hypershell X Series and Dnsys X1 are worn at the waist and assist the hip. The Dnsys Z1 is worn on the legs, with a powered joint at each knee. On paper they differ in listed weight, batteries and price; we found no independent test comparing the two designs.

Checked against official sources on

On paper

As publishedHypershell X Max SDnsys X1 CarbonDnsys Z1 Dual Joint
Batteries in the box1 standard battery[1]Box list read on Hypershell's Japan store; the X Ultra S ships with two Anti-Cold Batteries instead.1[2]1 Plus Battery[3]
Battery capacity72 Wh[4]Not stated[2, 5]Not stated[3]
Range (manufacturer figure)30 km in Eco 30 mode[1, 4]15 km[2]15 km[3]Dnsys says actual battery life varies with terrain, conditions and assist mode.
Peak power1,000 W[4]Not stated[2]The page claims “1.2 Horsepower” without saying for which configuration or whether it is peak output.900 W[3]
Weight as listed2,571 g wearing weight[1, 4]Wearing weight includes the main structure, soft pack and one battery.1.6 kg mechanical weight[2]A page-wide figure; it does not say which configuration or whether the battery is included.680 g per leg (machine weight)[3]Whether the battery is included is not stated.
Water and dust ratingIP54[4]IP54[2, 5]Dnsys says it resists splashing water but should not be used in heavy rain or submerged.IP54; cold tolerance to −20 °C[3]

Each brand states weight on a different basis: Hypershell’s wearing weight includes one battery[1]; Dnsys gives a mechanical weight for the X1 and a machine weight per leg for the Z1, without saying whether batteries are included[2, 3].

Price

ConfigurationUSUKCanadaAustralia
Hypershell X Max S$1,499[6]£1,299[7]CA$2,199[8]A$2,499[9]
Dnsys X1 Lite$689[2]US$689[2]US$689[2]US$689[2]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order.
Dnsys X1 Carbon$889 regular $1,299[2]US$889 regular US$1,299[2]US$889 regular US$1,299[2]US$889 regular US$1,299[2]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order.
Dnsys X1 Carbon Pro$1,289[2]US$1,289[2]US$1,289[2]US$1,289[2]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order.
Dnsys Z1 Dual Joint$1,299 regular $1,499[3, 10]US$1,299 regular US$1,499[10]US$1,299 regular US$1,499[10]US$1,299 regular US$1,499[10]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order.
Dnsys Z1 Dual Joint Pro$1,999[3]US$1,999[10]US$1,999[10]US$1,999[10]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order.

Prices as shown on each brand's official store for that country on the check date, in the currency the store charges (local currency, or US dollars where a brand sells only in dollars). We don't convert currencies or add taxes.

Who the brands say can use them

What the brand saysHypershellDnsys
Who the brand says can use it“Requires unassisted walking and balance.” The product page says it is designed for people who can walk independently.[6]Written for the X1: you should be able to walk unaided at 1 m/s (about 3.6 km/h) or faster; “If you have limited balance capabilities, DNSYS is not your choice”; not recommended if you have skeletal, muscular or neurological issues.[5]
Medical device statusNot FDA-approved or classified as a medical device. Hypershell does not recommend it for medical purposes or as a substitute for medical treatment or assistive devices.[6, 11]The US product page also says “Not a medical aid.”The FAQ says the X1 “is not a medical device” and asks users to follow medical advice.[5]

Dnsys’s requirements are written for the X1; the Z1 pages we read list fit ranges but no separate health requirements[3].

What we couldn’t find

We found no independent test that compares hip-worn and knee-worn consumer exoskeletons on the same people. Dnsys’s knee-load figures for the Z1 are marketing claims without a published method[3], and its FAQ says the X1 is not recommended for people with skeletal, muscular or neurological issues[5]. If you’re considering an exoskeleton because of knee pain, ask a clinician; we can’t tell you which design would help.

Sources

  1. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page: FAQ and in-the-box list (Japan store, in Japanese). Hypershell. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data.
  2. Manufacturer Dnsys X1 hip exoskeleton product page. Dnsys. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended). Rechecked with the store set to the UK, Canada and Australia: the same US-dollar prices.
  3. Manufacturer Dnsys Z1 exoskeleton page (specs and FAQ). Dnsys. Checked , page text read.
  4. Manufacturer Hypershell X Ultra S vs X Max S vs X Pro S: which one fits your adventure style (Hypershell UK blog). Hypershell, published Jul 23, 2026. Checked , page text read.
  5. Manufacturer Dnsys FAQ. Dnsys. Checked , page text read.
  6. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (US store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  7. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (UK store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  8. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (Canada store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  9. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (Australia store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  10. Manufacturer Dnsys Z1 exoskeleton product page. Dnsys. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended). Rechecked with the store set to the UK, Canada and Australia: the same US-dollar prices.
  11. Manufacturer Are Hypershell products suitable for medical use?. Hypershell Help Center. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data. The article shows only a relative date ("Updated 6 days ago").